Patchy pillar in living room after attempted paint job

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After moving/changing some wall lights in my living room, they were a bunch of holes in one section, and lots of scuff marks, so thought I'd give a go at painting a "pillar" that comes out into the living room with a roller on an extending pole. It's a tall ceiling (3.20m) and the pillar is about 40cm wide, ish.

As you can see from the photo, I've made a total hash of it with 2 coats. Front on it looks ok, from the side it's incredibly patchy (reality is worse than it looks in the photo, very dull light when i took the pic).

It's my first attempt at using a roller (Harris pile, 7 inch wide). I've watched a few videos and the issue is clearly my technique, not the materials! But I'm not sure whether i'm using too much paint, not enough, rolling too much, with too much pressure, whatever.

I guess it's impossible for anyone to say what I'm doing wrong. So I guess the question is: I'd like to give it one more go to see if my technique has miraculously improved. Assuming it hasn't, just want to make sure that continuing to add layers isn't going to make it harder (and therefore more expensive) for a pro to come in and sort it out?!

Any advice would be appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_4130.JPG
    IMG_4130.JPG
    236.2 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_4131.JPG
    IMG_4131.JPG
    175.9 KB · Views: 28
Sponsored Links
There's a lot of variables here. It is often difficult to tell from photos whether its inconsistent paint or whether the texture / suction of the underlying surface is inconsistent. It is always worse on walls perpendicular to a light source as they 'catch' every little imperfection. Was this wall heavily filled? If so, did you spot-prime the filler?